Wrestling: #24 Ohio Northern (4-3 Overall) at NWCA National Duals

Wrestling: #24 Ohio Northern (4-3 Overall) at NWCA National Duals

Thursaday-Friday, January 4-5, 2018, 9 am - Memorial Coliseum, Fort Wayne, Ind.

| Complete NCAA Division III bracket (.pdf) |

NWCA National Duals Preview: The Polar Bears will travel west for the NWCA National Duals Thursday and Friday at the Memorial Coliseum in Fort Wayne, Ind. ... More than 80 teams from NCAA Divisions I, II and III, plus NAIA and a women's bracket will compete in the two-day team tournament ... Ohio Northern will compete in the NCAA Division III bracket, a double-elimination bracket ... 14 of the 24 teams in the tournament are nationally ranked in this week's NWCA poll, which includes Ohio Northern at #24 ... In all, eight of the top 9 teams in the nation will compete ... ONU will open the tournament against perennial power Cortland State (N.Y.) at 9 am with a contest with #3 Augsburg (Minn.) at 11 am awaiting the winner ... Each team is guaranteed at least three dual meets in the tournament ... There will also be an open individual tournament alongside the duals tournament in which ONU wrestlers will compete ... Sophomore Nate Barcaskey is ranked No. 7 nationally at Heavyweight and junior Clayton Davidson is ranked No. 9 nationally at 174 pounds by the NWCA ... Thus far this season, Barcaskey leads the Polar Bears with a 14-2 record  ... Sophomore Seth Transue is second with a 13-6 record, tied with Davidson who is 13-7 with a team-best 5 pins.

ONU Statistical Leaders:

  Wins       Pins       Tech Falls       Maj. Dec.  
1. Barcaskey 14-2   1. Davidson 5   1. Caprella 4   1. Barcaskey 2
2. Transue 13-6     J.Thompson 5   2. Bair 3     Transue 2
  Davidson 13-7   3. C.Thompson 4   3. 6 tied with 1        Kowal 2
          Reed 4             Caprella 2
          Barcaskey 4                

ONU head coach Ron Beaschler: Beaschler in his 27th season at ONU with a 313-217-4 record, a winning percentage of .590 ... He is the all-time winningest coach in ONU history and has the longest tenure as head wrestling coach at ONU ... He was inducted into the National Wrestling Coaches Association (NWCA) Hall of Fame in 2008 ... He was named OAC Coach of the Year in 1993, 2012 and 2013.